Posted on

Ways to Decorate Your Yard to Support Your Football Team

There have been seven Heisman Trophies won by football players from Ohio State University (OSU). A total of six players have won those seven trophies as Archie Griffin remains the only college football player ever to win more than one Heisman Trophy. Griffin won his two awards in 1974 and 1975 following his junior and senior seasons.

The most recent Heisman winner to come out of Ohio State was quarterback Troy Smith. Smith won in December of 2006, a couple weeks before losing 41-14 in the national championship game to Tim Tebow of the University of Florida who a year later would go onto become the first sophomore to ever win the award

Ohio State University is tied for the most Heisman  xôi lạc tv Trophies along with the University of Notre Dame and the University of Southern California (USC). After those three schools that each have seven trophies to their credit the next closest is the University of Oklahoma with five and then there are four schools all tied with three apiece. Interestingly Army, which won the coveted award in 1945, 1946, and 1958, is tied with more modern prominent programs like the University of Florida, University of Michigan, and the University of Nebraska – all four of which have three.

In some respects the University of Notre Dame is like the Army program of the bunch at the top that are all tied with seven. Excluding the Tim Brown win in 1987 Notre Dame only has one winner (John Huarte in 1964) in roughly the last 55 years. Conversely USC has produced nearly 43% of its winners since the turn of the millennium. Ohio State by comparison has had a much more even stream of winners over the decades.

Although often criticized as being too political and inclusive of only a small set of football positions the Heisman Trophy is well understood to be the most coveted individual award in college football. The first award was handed to Jay Berwanger, a running back from the University of Chicago, in 1935. The award itself is named after John Heisman who was a very influential figure in the early development of the college game before passing away on October 3, 1936, three weeks before his 67th birthday.

Winning the coveted prize associated with being the top college football player in the nation is not a guarantee of future success at the next level. There have been 75 Heisman Trophy winners and to date only eight of them have been inducted into the football hall of fame with the most recent being Barry Sanders who won the award in 1988.